Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Page Top 2
Return to Main Website

Sturgeon County News

Sturgeon County & Town of Morinville meet again to discuss Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework
Administrator Account
/ Categories: News

Sturgeon County & Town of Morinville meet again to discuss Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework

January 29, 2019

Joint Statement: Morinville, AB – On Monday afternoon, the respective negotiating teams from Sturgeon County and the Town of Morinville held their second meeting to discuss better ways of delivering services through an Intermunicipal Collaborative Framework (ICF) mandated through the Modernized Municipal Government Act.

The negotiating teams reviewed the Alberta Government’s - Collaborative Framework Workbook that was developed to facilitate cooperation between neighbouring municipalities in order to ensure municipal services are provided to residents efficiently. They also discussed related governance agreements along with a list of existing agreements between the two municipalities.

The parties agreed that additional work needed to be done separately to review all the programs and services offered by both municipalities to identify both their respective priorities and impact to each municipality in preparation for the next meeting. The next meeting will be on February 20th.

“Time well spent comparing services offered by each municipality. This continuing process will assist us in determining the best use of resources for our residents,” said Sturgeon County Mayor, Alanna Hnatiw.

Mayor Barry Turner, states, “We are pleased to see this work progressing in an open and collaborative manner. Looking at the programs and services we deliver to our residents on a daily basis is an important step in our journey of finding efficiencies.”

Sturgeon County is represented by Mayor Alanna Hnatiw and Councillor Karen Shaw and Deputy Mayor Patrick D. Tighe. The Town of Morinville is represented by Mayor Barry Turner and Councillors Nicole Boutestein and Stephen Dafoe.


Under the Modernized Municipal Government Act, municipalities with common boundaries, must, within two years create a framework that:

  • Provides for the integrated and strategic planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services, such as water and waste water, solid waste, transportation, recreation and emergency services.
  • Stewards scarce resources efficiently in providing local services, and
  • Ensures municipalities contribute funding to services that benefit their residents.

For more information, please contact:

Alanna Hnatiw Barry Turner
Mayor, Sturgeon County Mayor, Town of Morinville
780-939-8327 780-939-7850


Previous Article Sturgeon County & Town of Morinville discuss Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework
Next Article CKPC to build $4.5B Petrochemical Facility in Sturgeon County

Latest News & Posts


Stay Connected

Visit our Community and Economic Development website "Start in Sturgeon" for more great info and events in Sturgeon County.

Visit the Start in Sturgeon website.

Follow Us

Follow us on Twitter and YouTube too.


Stay Informed

Join one or all of our email update lists

Contact Sturgeon County

 Phone: 780-939-4321

 Toll free: 1-866-939-9303

Visit Sturgeon County Centre

9613-100 Street
Morinville, Alberta
T8R 1L9

Map  Google Map

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement |  Copyright © 2018 Sturgeon County
Login | Register | Website by WebmontonMedia